gray block for spacing purposes

Monuments to Railroad Leaders

Four Georgia monuments erected for presidents of railroads:

Samuel Spencer monument, Atlanta. Memorial to the first president of the Southern Railway, sculpted by Daniel Chester French in 1909.

William Wadley monument, Macon. Statue of the post-Civil War president of the Central of Georgia, erected in 1885.

W.W. Gordon monument, Savannah. Dedicated to the first president of the Central of Georgia.

General Griffin monument, Griffin. Statue of Lewis Lawrence Griffin, first president of the early Monroe Railroad. Georgia's Railroad History & Heritage. © Steve Storey

Railroad History | The Depot List | Locomotives On Display | Odds & Ends | Sources & References | Home